When the trust relationship is lost, the computer can no longer authenticate domain users. This can cause applications to fail and prevent users from logging on. You can verify that the trust relationship has failed based on an event in the System log.
Windows XP would often allow users to log on with cached credentials after the trust relationship was lost. Windows 7 typically displays a message about the trust relationship being lost and prevents domain users from logging on.
The following process rejoins the domain without losing any computer account information:
- Reset the computer account in Active Directory Users and Computers
- Configure the computer as a member of a workgroup.
- Rejoin the domain.
- Reboot to complete the process.